Carr Fire Survivors: Assistance Center Now Open in Redding

A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), jointly operated by the State of California’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), is open to offer residents affected by the recent wildfires disaster assistance.

Representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration and other state, local and federal agencies will staff the center. Residents living in Shasta County, which was designated under the President’s Aug. 4, 2018 Major Disaster Declaration, now have a place to get their questions answered fact to face.

Before visiting a DRC, survivors are encouraged to register anytime online at or by phone at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362.  The toll-free numbers are open 4 a.m. to 8 p.m. local time, seven days a week.

Survivors should have the following information at hand:

  • Social Security number.
  • Address of the damaged primary
  • Description of the damage.
  • Information about insurance coverage.
  • A current contact telephone number.
  • An address where they can receive mail.
  • Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds.

Bryan May

Bryan May is Chief of Public Information & Media Relations for the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services. Prior to joining Cal OES in 2017, Bryan spent 30 years as an Emmy award winning television anchor and reporter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: